World 7: Star Trek TOS – Episode 9

A FARTHER SHORE

Previously: Episode Eight

JUMPER’s LOG, Star Date 2270, May 19th (4 Years, 9 Months, 19 Days)

Just shy of five years into my stay in this universe, I was invited to a medical conference on Potrin, an ocean planet with vast chains of warm lushly forested islands and no polar caps. One of the most stunning things about Potrin was the massive and eternal hurricane that slowly progressed completely around the planet’s equator once every 40 days. Our shuttle was routed down over the hurricane, but safely above it, as was traditional, to allow visitors to witness the force and beauty of the storm. Onboard the shuttle with me were Drs. Quinton Castillion (human), Hunter Mattix (Human), Kennik Caldera (Betazed), Bethanne Wooster (Human), Morris Otombo (Human), Sar (Vulcan), T’Vot (Vulcan), as well as our pilot Darius Smith (Human).

As we were crossing out from over the eye, our starboard nacelle… fell off. At least, that’s what I was told. The sudden jerk slammed my head into the bulkhead and the next thing I knew I was lying on a mat of leaves on a tropical island with a serious concussion and a severe lack of anything resembling memories.

When I asked what had happened, I was told we’d crashed, that the shuttlecraft pilot had managed to more or less ground us within a few feet of this island, and that we were without comms or anyway off the island and that the storm would be returning in a few days and we were essentially doomed. Dr Otombo had suffered a broken arm, T’Vot a broken leg, and I’d suffered a concussion and blood loss, but I seemed to be recovering nicely. Also, that I had a nice tricorder and they were wondering where I’d gotten it.

“I… I think I built it.” I admitted.

“You think?” the human female… Bethanne… asked.

“I’m having a great deal of trouble remembering things. It… some of it seems like a story I heard once, but I’m not sure which memories are mine and which are… fictional. Am… Am I Vulcan or Human?”

The younger of the two brown skinned humans… Quinton… chuckled “You must have hit your head pretty hard.”

“Vulcan.” said the female Vulcan… T’Vot.

“Excellent. May I recommend that we attempt to construct either some shelter or a craft to carry us out of the storm’s path and towards civilization?”

I could continue, drawing out the suspense, but the simple fact of the matter is that, yes, we got off the island before the storm arrived. Once I’d convinced the others that I wasn’t imagining being an Engineering expert, we pooled our skills and managed to turn the ruined shuttle craft into a skimmer. It was a terrible bodge job, rushed and barely airworthy, but we did it it. Oh… and Hunter Mattix turned out to have been the saboteur, apparently out of an attempt to kill Morris Otombo for failing to save Hunter’s son 15 years earlier. Even after my concussion healed and I remembered who and what I was, I am baffled by that one. Worst Vacation I’ve ever been on… Still, bet it would have been a cool episode.

Next: Episode Ten

Resources: Build, Document

If you like what I do, please consider supporting me on Patreon.

2 thoughts on “World 7: Star Trek TOS – Episode 9

  1. Short, but funny with the whole memory loss. I know that, in character, that is honestly quite horrifying, not being able to know what is in your past, who and what you are – but amnesia is such a trope that I sometimes just laugh at it being used. I like that there wasn’t too much angst about it all, though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah. I had plotted out all the steps and everything, but I decided to scrap it and just jump to the end. It was a lot of talk talk talk with people who would never appear again. I explore Amnesia more in a later jump though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

